gifts

18 February, 2004 12:27 a.m.

Suddenly, and with no wave of warning, I perceived the world as a wash of color, sensation, and light, seeing sharp blues and sparkling aquas in the finish of cars and shutters on houses and the veins across the surface of his shoulders.

His birthday, but it felt like mine.

As if waking and opening eyes to skin and shadows in sheets was a gift, as if every breath of laughter and my eyelashes pressed closed in sunlight were a gift. I told him he was the summer night that I walked barefoot in the dark and the adults drank wine. And I meant it.

Love.

And what I've been doing for the past month.



previous next

twice sixteen - 14 January, 2016
Hey--what's going on? - 11 April, 2008
I wasn't cool - 30 July, 2004
something you wouldn't believe if you saw it. - 11 May, 2004
Going to 17th and U - 27 April, 2004

hosted by DiaryLand.com